Ben Hogan Award

In our next series of blogs we will cover some of the most coveted awards that can be won by collegiate golfers. Up first is the Ben Hogan Award, this is presented yearly to the top male collegiate golfer by Colonial Country Club, in conjunction with the GCAA (Golf Coaches Association of America). The award began in 1990 and is determined by a selection committee including representatives from golf organisations such as the R&A and USPA as well as media and many more individuals. The committee selects the winner based on results from both college and amateur events.

The winner is announced at the PGA Tour’s Crowne Plaza Invitational at Colonial Tournament. Something quite ironic about the award is that Ben Hogan (A favourite player of Golf Scholarship USA staff) never actually attended college. Some notable recent winners of the award are:

    • 2014 – Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
    • 2012 – Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
    • 2011 – Peter Uihlein, Oklahoma State University
    • 2008 – Rickie Fowler, Oklahoma State University
    • 2005 – Ryan Moore, University of Nevada-Las Vegas
    • 2004 – Bill Haas, Wake Forest University

There is some great names on this list I am sure you will agree and yet again proof of the sort of talent college golf produces. If you would like to learn more about the opportunities to play collegiate golf in the U.S get in touch:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply