The Haskins Award

This is the second in our series of the most coveted awards that can be won by collegiate golfers. The Haskins Award is presented each year by the Haskins Commission. The award is to honour the most outstanding collegiate golfer in the United States. The award is dedicated to the memory of Fred Haskins who was a former golf teaching professional at the Country Club of Columbus in Georgia, USA.

The award is voted by the Haskins Commission. This commission is built from journalists, coaches and collegiate golfers. It is often compared to the Heisman Trophy which is awarded to the most outstanding American Football player of the year. Of all the awards this is considered by many as the most prestigious.

The achievements of former winners of the Haskins Award speaks for itself. Combined they have gone on to compete in 42 Ryder Cups, win 28 majors, and over 250 PGA Tour events. Some notable recent winners of the award are:

  • 2014- Patrick Rodgers, Stanford
  • 2012- Justin Thomas, Alabama
  • 2011- Patrick Cantlay, UCLA
  • 2005- Ryan Moore, UNLV
  • 2003- Hunter Mahan, Oklahoma State
  • 2002- Graeme McDowell, UAB

Some impressive names and figures here, I am sure you will agree who are all products of collegiate golf. If you would like to learn more about the opportunities to play collegiate golf in the U.S get in touch:

0 replies

Leave a Reply

Want to join the discussion?
Feel free to contribute!

Leave a Reply